Freedom From Clutter

Get organizing assistance from Sandy

Don’t Wait to Get Started

Leave a comment

Hello and welcome back!

Don’t wait to get started

Have you ever said, “I’ll be happy once I am organized.” Or, “I’ll be at peace once this junk is gone.” What about being happy or at peace NOW? No matter what first decide to be happy right now. Smile. Bigger. Okay, good. Keep smiling.

Next, create your intention

Decide what your intention is for a room, drawer, counter, corner or space. Decide the function and how you want to feel. For example, I want this drawer to hold things I need on a regular basis so I can find things quickly and easily and feel calm. Or, another example, I want this space to be where I come to relax and feel comforted. Another, I want this piece of furniture to hold only things I need periodically so I know where they are even though I do not need them daily and feel relief knowing they are safe. Another, I want this room to be inspiring and only contain items that make me smile or motivate me.

Now, create it

Always keep the intention in mind, the function and how you want to feel, while you create it. This makes it extremely easy to decide what stays and what goes. Just ask yourself, does it match my intention? Sometimes we don’t get started because we do not have a mental picture of how it will look, feel or be. Our fear of the unknown stops us dead in our tracks before we even get started. There are just too many questions that causes your fear to halt your efforts. Out smart your fear by deciding on a function and how you want to feel, create that mental picture and tie emotions to it. Now, you can move forward with what you want.

The final step, use the Do It Now rule

Would like to know the trick on keeping your spaces organized and clutter-free? Whatever you take out, put back as soon as you are done with it. If you spill it, immediately wipe it up. If you have no room for it, don’t buy or keep it. If you do not have time to deal with it, don’t bring it in or do it (mail, grocery’s, laundry). Create a launch pad by the door you use most frequently whatever needs to go with you the next time you leave put it there. Make any chore or task fun and it will get done quickly and easily. Set a timer and play beat the clock for example.  And the final, look before you leave. If you are leaving a room ask, does anything need to come with me, be turned off or need to be straightened? When leaving your vehicle, ask, does anything in here need to stay in here? If not, remove it as you exit. Speaking of vehicles, take advantage of the trash cans at stores, gas stations, and at your place. If there is trash in your vehicle throw it out as you see these reciprocals. These are all steps people who are organized take, follow them and you too could be organized now.

Peace to you all!

Sandy

Leave a comment