Freedom From Clutter

Get organizing assistance from Sandy

Closet Clean Out Time!

Leave a comment

Hello and welcome back!

Yes folks it is that time of year to change our wardrobes to the winter clothes.

But before you do….

Gather receptacles, this could be garbage bags, laundry baskets, boxes, whatever you have on hand. Label, or at least know, which container will hold what. For example, donate, repair/dry clean, and throw away. The items you will keep won’t need a container just a holding spot as these will go back in your closet.

Next… Take action

Take everything out of your closet, yes, everything. As you remove each item, ask, “Do I love it? Do I wear it? Would I buy it today?” Then place it in the designated area or receptacle. Look over each item, if stained, stretched out or torn throw it away. Make quick decisions, the more you linger the more stories about an item will come to mind, and the harder it will be to make a  judgment. Keeping  items you don’t wear  limits the possibility for new things to come into your life. Trust me, you will be provided for once you eliminate what stands between you and new. Make sure each item fits the body you have today. If you have pregnancy clothes and you aren’t pregnant, but may be plan to be again you can box these to free up valuable space. If you have old high school clothes and you haven’t been in the halls for over ten years it is time for an update. If you have clothes that are too small it is time to release them. When or if you get back to that size you will want a current and stylish wardrobe. Plus you will create guilt or worse beat yourself up for not being that size. And if you have larger size clothes donate them so you aren’t tempted to gain weight. The importance is to embrace and dress the size you are right now. If you aren’t happy where you are than do something about it, but keeping clothes that do not fit is not the answer.  Also make sure the clothes suit your lifestyle today. Most importantly while handling this task keep in mind you are looking for progress not perfection. Another good tip for future purchases is if you bring something new in something old must go.

What to do with the maybe or I’m not really sure clothes?

Every time I switch my wardrobe I place all the hangers facing the ‘right’ way. As I wear an item I place it backwards on the rod. I wear only the clothes that face the ‘right’ way, until I have worn them all. If I notice I’m going to the hangers facing the opposite way, and still have a few items facing the ‘right’ way I know I will not wear those items and  donate them.

What about drawers and shelves?

Rotate.  After wearing an item or laundering, as  you put clothing away, put them on the bottom of the pile. What is in your drawers or on a shelf gets moved to the top. If you keep reaching for items at the bottom of the pile you can donate the ones on the top knowing you aren’t wearing those.

What about occasional items?

It depends on how occasional it is. I have a raincoat I wear probably twenty times a year. It is very thin and takes up little room, I not only love it, but I would buy it again, so it stays.  The other rule I adhere to is if I did not wear it for two seasons I give it  away.  Freeing your space allows for the new to enter. Learn to bless others with your abundance.

The final step…  

Clean up immediately. Once everything is back in your closet and drawers it is time to bring the containers to their designated locations, trash, dry cleaner or tailor, and donation center. Job complete! You are organized! Hooray time to celebrate!   

Much peace and freedom to you!   

~Sandy   

 

Leave a Reply

