Freedom From Clutter

Get organizing assistance from Sandy

Throwing You a Lifesaver

Leave a comment

Hello and welcome back!

I am inviting you to automate your life with the routines and habits that work for you. When life is filled with chaos, draining activities, and habits that don’t work what you get is a stress filled life, which will lead to a sick life and I don’t want that for you. To change this way of life, you’ll need to recognize what isn’t working. So grab a pen, a piece of paper and find a quiet spot. You are about to get honest with yourself. I want you to be aware of any mind chatter that appears. During this exercise you may hear your mind using the word “should” along with some defensiveness, explanations and excuses. Any change will cause some ego confusion which is fine just don’t get caught up in it.

Okay, ready? Take a few deep breathes and as you become quiet, ask the questions below, hear the answer, and allow your pen to simply record it. As you become aware of any mind chatter just bring yourself back by repeating the question. Become repetitive, ask the question, hear the answer, record it, ask the question, hear it, record, ask, hear, record. Once the answers stop flowing freely move on. 

On the first list I want you to ask, “What do I enjoy? What brings me peace?” On the second list ask yourself, “What would I like to incorporate into my life?” On the third list ask and record, “What drains me? What doesn’t bring me peace, makes me insane, or I don’t enjoy?” 

Whenever I am not experiencing a peaceful, happy, or joy filled life, I see it for what it is and know it is time for some soul searching. I created these lists to allow my true self to communicate with me, to find out what was going on within. As I get honest and tune in these lists have been eye opening. Without the lists I wouldn’t know what needed changing or how to get me back to my natural happy state. I hope it is helpful to you as well.

The following are a few examples of what I experienced. On the third list, what drains me, I noticed someone had asked me to do something, but the list showed me I didn’t want to. Another item was a “should” I thought I was supposed to do it, but deep down hated. Another one was a very old familiar habit that no longer worked for me in the way I had first intended. What I noticed, when I am willing to release an item, the solution, if needed, shows up. For instance, one time I wrote “Dieting”. This surprised me because dieting had become a way of life for me, but what the list showed me was how complicated I made it. Once I released it, an inner knowing appeared, I was to eat when I was hungry, eat the foods my body recognized and to do those two as often as possible. By releasing “dieting”, listening and applying what my true self relayed to me, the pounds melted away! Sometimes the ego, the mind chatter, has its own way of doing things, but can also add to your stress. My true self is what recognizes my needs, I found this works best to quiet the little bugger.

I’ve seen some things from the first list, what I enjoy and what brings me peace, disappear, yet they were important to my happiness. So the list has allowed me to see when I am getting away from what I need. And the second list, what I wanted to incorporate, was eye opening as well. One time it showed me a desire I had tucked away many years ago, but was now ready to reemerge.  

The final step is to figure out how to eliminate what drains you, what doesn’t bring you joy or peace. To keep your stress level to the bare minimum it is important to protect your peace and happiness. In some cases you won’t need to do anything, but just decide to let go. Another one may have gotten too complicated and may need to be released until you see it through renewed eyes. One may no longer serve you. Maybe you can hire someone to do the things that drain you. If you think you may upset someone remind yourself you are not responsible to act, say, do or be a specific way to make another comfortable or happy. It is your happiness and comfort level you are responsible for and in control of. It is time to have a life you enjoy and the place you find peace.    

Peacefully ~ Sandy

Copyright 2013 by Sandy Lucas 

Leave a Reply

